Help with light strips

Restoration/upgrades/fixes/fabrication of pins and vids
User avatar
Bagdad
MAACA Collaborator
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 11:08 am
Location: Montréal

Help with light strips

Postby Bagdad » Sun Feb 11, 2018 11:49 am

So I've installed the Light strips in my Hurricane following the instructions but they don't light up. :FP:

Anyone can help me with that until PB get back to me?

https://www.pinballbulbs.com/installs/w ... stallation

P1030294.JPG
Own: Diner / Hurricane
Looking for : JunkYard / Who Dunnit / Black Knight 2000 / Black Rose

User avatar
quarter grabber
MAACA Barbarian
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 11:52 am
Location: Ottawa

Re: Help with light strips

Postby quarter grabber » Sun Feb 11, 2018 12:03 pm

I've installed a ton of these kits and never had a problem. Check the solder joints at the lightstrip base

User avatar
quarter grabber
MAACA Barbarian
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2012 11:52 am
Location: Ottawa

Re: Help with light strips

Postby quarter grabber » Sun Feb 11, 2018 12:06 pm

I mostly put them in SAM system games but i do have one in my T2. I can snap a pic of the install and post later if you'd like.

User avatar
Bagdad
MAACA Collaborator
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 11:08 am
Location: Montréal

Re: Help with light strips

Postby Bagdad » Sun Feb 11, 2018 12:20 pm

quarter grabber wrote:Check the solder joints at the lightstrip base


They look fine. Do you see any issue with the way I plugged the harness? I've try to plug it in both j18 and j17 with no success...

FYI: I have no idea if that would cause any issues, but I've got one ramp disasembled, so 2 of the switches are disconnected atm.
Own: Diner / Hurricane
Looking for : JunkYard / Who Dunnit / Black Knight 2000 / Black Rose


User avatar
Bagdad
MAACA Collaborator
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 11:08 am
Location: Montréal

Re: Help with light strips

Postby Bagdad » Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:53 am

They told me it's probably a fuse that is blown. Gonna have to check that out...
Own: Diner / Hurricane
Looking for : JunkYard / Who Dunnit / Black Knight 2000 / Black Rose

User avatar
Bagdad
MAACA Collaborator
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 11:08 am
Location: Montréal

Re: Help with light strips

Postby Bagdad » Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:12 pm

Well, I've found one of the fuses was indeed blown. Will change it this week-end and see if it does anything.

Also, I've noticed that one of them (the 5 fuses shown in the picture) was a Fast Acting fuse, but in the manual is listed as Slow paced. Should I replace this one too?
Own: Diner / Hurricane
Looking for : JunkYard / Who Dunnit / Black Knight 2000 / Black Rose

User avatar
cap
MAACA Barbarian
Posts: 668
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 8:19 pm
Location: Laval

Re: Help with light strips

Postby cap » Mon Feb 12, 2018 9:02 pm

Bagdad wrote:Well, I've found one of the fuses was indeed blown. Will change it this week-end and see if it does anything.

Also, I've noticed that one of them (the 5 fuses shown in the picture) was a Fast Acting fuse, but in the manual is listed as Slow paced. Should I replace this one too?


I think the worst that will happen is it will blow more easily. You can change the fuse if you insist but if it does not blow I don't see the urgency of doing that.
Last Action Hero, Rocky & Bullwinkle, Stargate, F14 Tomcat (in restoration)

User avatar
Bagdad
MAACA Collaborator
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 11:08 am
Location: Montréal

Re: Help with light strips

Postby Bagdad » Sat Feb 17, 2018 6:48 pm

I changed the bad fuse today and the light strip is still not working... :cry:

I only tested the 5 fuses on top of the connectors (the ones shownd in the picture), should I also check every other fuses on the driver board?

...Also, I just realised the Ferris Wheel is not working anymore... :( :( :( :( Since the game was in restoration for a while, I have no idea when it stopped to work. All I know is that it was working when I started repopulating the playfield a while back...

Man, what a pain :FP:
Own: Diner / Hurricane
Looking for : JunkYard / Who Dunnit / Black Knight 2000 / Black Rose

User avatar
Splitskull
Admins
Posts: 3602
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 5:59 pm
Location: Mascouche, Qc.

Re: Help with light strips

Postby Splitskull » Sat Feb 17, 2018 9:39 pm

you got to find why the fuses are blown. Not just change them. There is a reason why they pop

User avatar
Bagdad
MAACA Collaborator
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 11:08 am
Location: Montréal

Re: Help with light strips

Postby Bagdad » Sun Feb 18, 2018 8:47 am

Splitskull wrote:you got to find why the fuses are blown. Not just change them. There is a reason why they pop


Yeah, I tested all the fuses and found another one was blowned on the driver board. Also, I did the solenoid test and found that the spinning disk on the back box is also not working anymore :) :cry: ...

That's weird cause I haven't really touched anything on the wiring and stuff since I've started repopulating the playfield...and everything was working back then.

The only "electrical thing" I did was the LED swap, spotlights installation (working), and pop bumper lamp socket install (working)... :?

I'll try to change the fuse today, and if it blows again I'll have someone come home to check that out...
Own: Diner / Hurricane
Looking for : JunkYard / Who Dunnit / Black Knight 2000 / Black Rose

User avatar
Bagdad
MAACA Collaborator
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 11:08 am
Location: Montréal

Re: Help with light strips

Postby Bagdad » Sun Feb 18, 2018 10:20 am

Don't know if this could be related but it does'nt feel right... :shock:

ark.jpg
Own: Diner / Hurricane
Looking for : JunkYard / Who Dunnit / Black Knight 2000 / Black Rose

User avatar
Bagdad
MAACA Collaborator
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 11:08 am
Location: Montréal

Re: Help with light strips

Postby Bagdad » Sun Feb 18, 2018 3:00 pm

Okay.... So I've went to the store and bought new fuses...

I replaced the blowned one, and it insta-poped when I turned the machine on. :o

Then, I did a little testing and replaced the insta popped fuse and unplugged some connectors from the board. J117 & J118 (The one I tried the light strip connector on)

Turned on the machine; the fuse is GOOD.

Reppluged J117, the fuse is still GOOD, AND the ferris wheel and spinners are now working !! :D :D YAY!

Replugged J118 (without the light strip connector attached) : Fuse is good, ferris and spinner ok. :D

So...err, I guess it's the light strip connector then? What do you guys think?
Own: Diner / Hurricane
Looking for : JunkYard / Who Dunnit / Black Knight 2000 / Black Rose

User avatar
Bagdad
MAACA Collaborator
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 11:08 am
Location: Montréal

Re: Help with light strips

Postby Bagdad » Wed Feb 21, 2018 9:20 am

Is that normal that the multimeter needle is moving a little when testing and the empty fuse socket on the board?

Normally when I test a blown fuse or another empty socket, the needle is not moving at all.


Simulated imagery:
marde.jpg
marde.jpg (30.59 KiB) Viewed 262 times
Own: Diner / Hurricane
Looking for : JunkYard / Who Dunnit / Black Knight 2000 / Black Rose

bigpumba
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:49 pm
Location: No

Re: Help with light strips

Postby bigpumba » Wed Feb 21, 2018 11:08 am

No.



Return to “Projects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests