MAME Help

Talk about mame, post your mame project and/or virtual pins
mbudman
MAACA Super Contributor
Been liked: 1 time

MAME Help

Post by mbudman »

Hello,

I am new to the work of arcade emulators / MAME.

I am working on a MAME project with my son and was wondering if you could guide me.

We have built a cabinet, and currently working on the computer end of things. I have Dual core PC with Windows 7x64 and 4 gigs of RAM.

I downloaded the latest version of MAME as well as MAME64ui. I also have downloaded a bunch of ROMs and COLECOVISION ROMs.

For the regular ROMS, I can launch a game but not certain how to start. I can add coins and then the system says press 1 or two players, but that is as far as I get. None of the keys on the keyboard seem to actually launch the game. This is the case for some of the games (not all).

For colecovision games, I cannot get them to run with MAME as when it scans the directory it crashes. Or if I get far enough within MAME it says files are missing or incomplete.

I do get Colceovision games to load with Colem (I have the latest version), but I get as far as the screen, "turn off game before inserting cartridge" and cannot launch any games.

Any guidance / help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Mark

Mrhide
MAACA OG
Has liked: 425 times
Been liked: 258 times

Re: MAME Help

Post by Mrhide »

pressing tab within the game will launch the menu where you can configure all your keys for that game. default to start should be 1 and 2 ( not the numeric keypad, the other ones)
you can right click the game BEFORE you launch it to configure inputs as well.

coleco vision: you might be missing the "coleco vision bios" or check the mameui.ini and make sure your rom path is relative and not absolute ( meaning not C:\mame\roms but .\roms )

if still not working, post screenshots so we can better try to help ;)
LF: GrooveCoaster Machine, shmups or any PCB, specifically Namco System 1 (Pacmania), let me know what you have!

mbudman