Got The Grail

Talk about anything that you would like.
Chris Silver
MAACA Mega Contributor
Has liked: 72 times
Been liked: 79 times

Got The Grail

Post by Chris Silver »

I'm still totally stressed out and my writing skills are questionable.

With the selfless help of a few close friends and some serious covert operations (wife) I have finally obtained my grail pin. Its a 1982 Gottlieb Punk. For at least 7 years I've hunted for one of these. I swear it is a hidden gem. I don’t trust the IPDB rating on this beauty. 2 of the 7 ratings brought it down to a 6.2. If you do the true math it should be a 7.9. The 2 low rating were 2.6 and 2.2 causing the final rating to hit its low value. I studied the gameflow and found it to be worthy of the hunt.

The feeling I have is almost like cheating on my wife. I couldn't tell her the truth. She would have killed me. I mentioned I needed to help RAB move a pin. I didn't have enough cash on hand with such a short notice and our Borderland Pinball Collective stepped up to my rescue. Farmboy fronted me the dough. I couldn't launder money out of my accounts quick enough without being pinned. My next problem was where to "hide" it until the dust settled. Sparky was away for business and Heisenburg was on vacation in the States. Goldmeister lives up my street and has 3 machines, but he wasn't answering his phone. Dave W said the pin could hide in his garage. lol This was convenient because I apparently was hiding one for him in mine. Is it just us complaining or do you guys have the same grief?

RAB was my total saviour. He was the man who knew I was looking and found one with a curious history floating around Montreal. Its a loooong story which I will leave to his colourful writing skills. Robert so generously went out of his way to hook me up and was very understanding to my scatterbrain behavior knowing I was a walking dead man with my wife. I owe him bigtime.