Ipac 4 (pre 2015) and Win 11

Talk about mame, post your mame project and/or virtual pins
Post Reply
User avatar
cheg
MAACA New Contributor
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 12:52 pm
Location: Ottawa
Been liked: 1 time

Ipac 4 (pre 2015) and Win 11

Post by cheg »

Hi everyone

I'm in the process of trying once again to get an old MAME cab going but I won't be using the CRT as that's been a bitch to deal with. I bought a mini computer with win 11, I downloaded the correct Ultimarc software for the age of the ipac4 but it's not recognizing all the buttons. I tried reaching out to Ultimarc but no response. Should I just bite the bullet and get the latest board? If the tech is too old for this new computer I don't want to waste more time that I already have. Logically it seems that it should work since it acts as a pseudo keyboard but it doesn't. I'm beyond frustrated and I just want the damn thing to work.

Alternatively if a guru here knows they can get this thing up and running I'll pay your for your time. The caveat is that I live in Crysler ON, between Montreal and Ottawa.
:( Past:
  • Pro-Football, Phoenix, High Speed, Black Knight, Demolition Man, Rocky & Bullwinkle
:) Present:
  • Sparky's Custom Ultra Mame

User avatar
mrmikeman
MAACA Mega Contributor
Posts: 3225
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Ottawa, ON
Has liked: 89 times
Been liked: 225 times

Re: Ipac 4 (pre 2015) and Win 11

Post by mrmikeman »

The windows version should have nothing to do with it. The ipac is a keyboard encoder. Computer sees a keyboard.

Check ultimarc in the programming section for the ipac4. I’ve never owned that particular one but have had many ipacs. Some older ones had different firmwares(or jumpers on the really older ones) for different uses. Could be your issue
PINS:
Labyrinth (#21)
Jurassic Park LE (#449)
JAWS Premium
Scooby Doo CE (#141)
MultiMorphic P3 with all 7 current modules + all mini-games currently available
Star Wars Prem
Star Trek the Next Generation
Lady Luck (Recel) (in winter storage)
Gtb Pro Football (in winter storage)

Incoming: Looney Tunes, Princess Bride (P3 module)

MISC:
Aristocrat Shuffle Alley (in winter storage)

JUKES
Seeburg STD2 Entertainer - Converted to MP3 while retaining the original look and feel. *FOR SALE - $500 (in winter storage)
NSM Emerald Ice CD(100) wall hanger juke. *FOR SALE - $1400

Gone but not forgotten
So many... CCrLE, WOZ ECLE, Stern POTC, Star Trek Pro, MMrRE, Stranger Things LE, Dr Who, RFM, SWEP1, Road Show, Monster Bash, Twilight Zone, Lord of the Rings, Simpsons Pinball Party, Demolition Man, Terminator 2, Funhouse, Tales from the Crypt, High Speed, Bad Cats, Flintstones, WWF Royal Rumble, Laser War, Laser Ball, Silver Slugger, Batman Forever, Pinbot, 6 Million Dollar Man, Galaxy, Meteor, Countdown, Hot Tip(SS), and others I just can't think of lol.

User avatar
Mrhide
MAACA OG
Posts: 12209
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:59 pm
Location: Laval
Has liked: 445 times
Been liked: 274 times

Re: Ipac 4 (pre 2015) and Win 11

Post by Mrhide »

So what cha doin with the crt ? :)
LF: GrooveCoaster Machine, shmups or any PCB, specifically Namco System 1 (Pacmania), let me know what you have!

User avatar
cheg
MAACA New Contributor
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 12:52 pm
Location: Ottawa
Been liked: 1 time

Re: Ipac 4 (pre 2015) and Win 11

Post by cheg »

Mrhide wrote: Fri Apr 05, 2024 6:24 am So what cha doin with the crt ? :)
It'll eventually be sold with the cab when I get a compact system set up!
:( Past:
  • Pro-Football, Phoenix, High Speed, Black Knight, Demolition Man, Rocky & Bullwinkle
:) Present:
  • Sparky's Custom Ultra Mame

User avatar
cheg
MAACA New Contributor
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 12:52 pm
Location: Ottawa
Been liked: 1 time

Re: Ipac 4 (pre 2015) and Win 11

Post by cheg »

mrmikeman wrote: Thu Apr 04, 2024 3:36 pm The windows version should have nothing to do with it. The ipac is a keyboard encoder. Computer sees a keyboard.

Check ultimarc in the programming section for the ipac4. I’ve never owned that particular one but have had many ipacs. Some older ones had different firmwares(or jumpers on the really older ones) for different uses. Could be your issue
This was the answer from Ultimarc:

Pre-2015 boards will not work properly with Windows 7 (after an update) and later as Microsoft removed the method which data was sent by WinIPAC (older version) for “security reasons”.

In Windows 7 and 10, the board will still work but WinIPAC will not, and it cant be reconfigured. But if the current settings are suitable, that’s not a problem. In theory Windows 11 should be the same, is the board actually working, sending keycodes despite the error?

If its not working it might be the known issue causes a more serious outcome in Win 11.

We can reload firmware to the current version on the I-PAC 4 (not on I-PAC 2) but would mean sending it here.
:( Past:
  • Pro-Football, Phoenix, High Speed, Black Knight, Demolition Man, Rocky & Bullwinkle
:) Present:
  • Sparky's Custom Ultra Mame

Post Reply