Aerosmith flipper not working

Talk about anything that you would like.
jamesdoubleu
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 12:08 pm
Location: Montreal

Aerosmith flipper not working

Postby jamesdoubleu » Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:27 am

Hi,

The left flipper on my Aerosmith Pro stopped working last night, Naturally this happened with 15 people there early in the evening.

By not working I mean you press the button and the flipper doesn't move. Nothing. As far as I can see the rest of the game works fine. I had not been experiencing any problems with it before.

I'm not really a technical guy, so I'm just looking for the next step. That could include suggestions on a tech to call.

Appreciate any feedback!

User avatar
cap
MAACA Barbarian
Posts: 723
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 8:19 pm
Location: Laval

Re: Aerosmith flipper not working

Postby cap » Sun Sep 16, 2018 3:30 pm

I would check if a fuse has blown.
Road Show, Last Action Hero, Rocky & Bullwinkle, Stargate, F14 Tomcat (in restoration)

User avatar
Fifty
MAACA Warrior
Posts: 1860
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 2:50 pm
Location: Ottawa (Kanata)

Re: Aerosmith flipper not working

Postby Fifty » Sun Sep 16, 2018 3:55 pm

My guess would be another shitty transistor.

EvanDickson
MAACA Collaborator
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 12:51 pm
Location: Charlottetown, PEI

Re: Aerosmith flipper not working

Postby EvanDickson » Sun Sep 16, 2018 4:00 pm

I'd start by looking for a broken wire at the coil.


jamesdoubleu
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 12:08 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Aerosmith flipper not working

Postby jamesdoubleu » Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:49 pm

cap wrote:I would check if a fuse has blown.


Thanks very much, is this an easy thing to check, I have to admit I don't know how.

jamesdoubleu
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2017 12:08 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: Aerosmith flipper not working

Postby jamesdoubleu » Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:49 pm

EvanDickson wrote:I'd start by looking for a broken wire at the coil.


Thanks, I will check that. Appreciate it.

User avatar
cap
MAACA Barbarian
Posts: 723
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 8:19 pm
Location: Laval

Re: Aerosmith flipper not working

Postby cap » Sun Sep 16, 2018 8:00 pm

jamesdoubleu wrote:
cap wrote:I would check if a fuse has blown.


Thanks very much, is this an easy thing to check, I have to admit I don't know how.


First, you have to locate the right fuse. That information is in your manual. That's likely the hardest part for you.
You need to unplug the machine to make sure power is off.
You must "gently" remove the fuse from its holder. You can use a flat screwdriver.
I say gently, but you sometimes have to apply some force. Don't break the fuse.
Work from one of the extremities. The extremity is stronger than the glass in the middle.
In general, visual inspection is not enough to be certain whether the wire inside is fine or broken.
If you don't have a multimeter to test with, the simplest is to go ahead and replace the fuse with a new one with the same value.
You likely don't have an extra fuse, so I would suggest you simply swap two fuses that have the same value and verify if the problem moves elsewhere.
I insist, make sure the fuses have the correct value before you put them in and forget about it.
The value should be stamped on one of the metal ends.

Turn the machine on.
It's quite possible the new fuse will blow right away if the real problem persists.
A blown fuse could be a freak incident, but it usually indicates another problem in the wiring.
Road Show, Last Action Hero, Rocky & Bullwinkle, Stargate, F14 Tomcat (in restoration)



Return to “MAACA Forum and Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests